# Defenders of Wildlife Global Warming and Wildlife



# SAFE CLIMATE ACT OF 2007 (H.R. 1590)

Global warming is one of the greatest conservation issues we face today. Rising sea levels, melting ice, droughts, and habitat change and destruction threaten species in the US and around the world. Scientists warn that we must drastically reduce global warming pollutants by midcentury to halt and reverse global warming trends. Defenders of Wildlife supports solutions that will immediately and significantly reduce greenhouse gas emissions to avoid the worst consequences of global warming.

The Safe Climate Act of 2007 (H.R. 1590), introduced by Representative Henry Waxman (D-CA) is a forward-looking, science-based bill that sets

e e s

targets and requires actions necessary to avoid the most catastrophic consequences of global warming. By increasing reliance on renewable energy sources and energy efficiency, this bill will have far-reaching positive impacts, including reducing air pollution, creating new jobs, and reducing our dependence on oil.

#### **Pollution Reduction Targets**

Scientists tell us that we are near a "tipping point" beyond which drastic climate changes will be unavoidable. This point is recognized as a 2°F increase above today's global average. To stay below this point, we have to stabilize concentrations of global warming pollutants at 450ppm (parts per million) by 2100.

This bill establishes pollution reduction targets that aim to keep temperatures below this dangerous tipping point. Under this bill, emissions levels are set at 2010 levels and then gradually reduced through 2050. From 2011 to 2020, emissions are cut 2% per year after which point reductions are cut 5% per year. By mid-century, emissions will be 80% lower than in 1990.

## **Balanced Approach to Pollution Reductions**

To reach these targets, this bill calls for increased reliance on clean, renewable energy sources, improved energy efficiency, and clean cars. It also creates a flexible "cap and trade" program that would allow companies to meet emissions reductions targets.

*Renewable Energy Standard* - Directs the Department of Energy (DOE) to establish national standards requiring 20% of electricity be generated from renewable energy sources by 2020.

*Energy Efficiency Standard* - Directs DOE to establish national standards requiring utilities to obtain 10% of their energy supplies through energy efficiency in 2020.

*Clean Cars Standard* – Directs the Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) to set standards for reducing global warming emissions from motor vehicles that are at least as rigorous as the current California standards. EPA must tighten these standards in 2014 and periodically after then.

*Cap and Trade Program* – Directs EPA to set a cap on global warming emissions from the largest polluters and allow polluters to meet the cap by buying and selling pollution allowances, which can be likened to pollution permits. Funds generated from allowances sales are deposited in the "Climate Reinvestment Fund" to be used for public benefit and to promote economic growth, including helping fish and wildlife adapt to a changing climate.

## **Periodic Scientific Review**

The bill also calls for the National Academy of Sciences to review, every 5 years, progress reducing global warming pollutants. If necessary, it will outline additional reductions and national and international actions to be taken.

#### Safe Climate Act of 2007 (H.R. 1590) Lead Sponsor – Rep. Henry Waxman (D-CA-30) Cosponsor List (4/12/07)

Neil Abercrombie (D-HI-1) Gary Ackerman (D-NY-5) Thomas Allen (D-ME-1) Tammy Baldwin (D-WI-2) Xavier Becerra (D-CA-31) Shelley Berkley (D-NV-1) Howard Berman (D-CA-28) Timothy Bishop (D-NY-1) Earl Blumenauer (D-OR-3) Robert Brady (D-PA-1) Corrine Brown (D-FL-3) Lois Capps (D-CA-23) Michael Capuano (D-MA-8) Russ Carnahan (D-MO-3) Julia Carson (D-IN-7) Katherine Castor (D-FL-11) Albert Chandler (D-KY-6) Donna Christensen (D-VI-1) William Clay (D-MO-1) Emanuel Cleaver (D-MO-5) Stephen Cohen (D-TN-9) John Conyers (D-MI-14) Joseph Courtney (D-CT-2) Joseph Crowley (D-NY-7) Elijah Cummings (D-MD-7) Danny Davis (D-IL-7) Susan Davis (D-CA-53) Peter DeFazio (D-OR-4) Diana DeGette (D-CO-1) William Delahunt (D-MA-10) Rosa DeLauro (D-CT-3) Norman Dicks (D-WA-6) Lloyd Doggett (D-TX-25) Keith Ellison (D-MN-5) Rahm Emanuel (D-IL-5) Eliot Engel (D-NY-17) Anna Eshoo (D-CA-14) Sam Farr (D-CA-17) Chaka Fattah (D-PA-2) Bob Filner (D-CA-51) Barney Frank (D-MA-4) Raul Grijalva (D-AZ-7) Luis Gutierrez (D-IL-4) John Hall (D-NY-19)

Phil Hare (D-IL-17) Jane Harman (D-CA-36) Alcee Hastings (D-FL-23) Maurice Hinchey (D-NY-22) Mazie Hirono (D-HI-2) Paul Hodes (D-NH-2) Michael Honda (D-CA-15) Jay Inslee (D-WA-1) Steve Israel (D-NY-2) Jesse Jackson (D-IL-2) Sheila Jackson-Lee (D-TX-18) William Jefferson (D-LA-2) Eddie Johnson (D-TX-30) Henry Johnson (D-GA-4) Stephanie Tubbs Jones (D-OH-11) Steven Kagen (D-WI-8) Patrick Kennedy (D-RI-1) Ron Kind (D-WI-3) Ron Klein (D-FL-22) Dennis Kucinich (D-OH-10) James Langevin (D-RI-2) Tom Lantos (D-CA-12) John Larson (D-CT-1) Barbara Lee (D-CA-9) John Lewis (D-GA-5) Frank LoBiondo (R-NJ-2) Zoe Lofgren (D-CA-16) Nita Lowey (D-NY-18) Stephen Lynch (D-MA-9) Carolyn Maloney (D-NY-14) Edward Markey (D-MA-7) Doris Matsui (D-CA-5) Betty McCollum (D-MN-4) Jim McDermott (D-WA-7) James McGovern (D-MA-3) Jerry McNerney (D-CA-11) Michael McNulty (D-NY-21) Martin Meehan (D-MA-5) Kendrick Meek (D-FL-17) Michael Michaud (D-ME-2) Juanita Millender-McDonald (D-CA-37) George Miller (D-CA-7) Gwen Moore (D-WI-4) James Moran (D-VA-8)

Christopher Murphy (D-CT-5) Jerrold Nadler (D-NY-8) Grace Napolitano (D-CA-38) Richard Neal (D-MA-2) John Olver (D-MA-1) Frank Pallone (D-NJ-6) Bill Pascrell (D-NJ-8) Donald Payne (D-NJ-10) Charles Rangel (D-NY-15) Steven Rothman (D-NJ-9) Lucille Roybal-Allard (D-CA-34) Linda Sanchez (D-CA-39) Loretta Sanchez (D-CA-47) John Sarbanes (D-MD-3) Janice Schakowsky (D-IL-9) Adam Schiff (D-CA-29) Allyson Schwartz (D-PA-13) Robert Scott (D-VA-3) Jose Serrano (D-NY-16) Joseph Sestak (D-PA-7) Christopher Shays (R-CT-4) Carol Shea-Porter (D-NH-1) Brad Sherman (D-CA-27) Albio Sires (D-NJ-13) Adam Smith (D-WA-9) Hilda Solis (D-CA-32) Fortney Stark (D-CA-13) Ellen Tauscher (D-CA-10) Bennie Thompson (D-MS-2) Mike Thompson (D-CA-1) John Tierney (D-MA-6) Edolphus Towns (D-NY-10) Christopher Van Hollen (D-MD-8) Debbie Schultz (D-FL-20) Maxine Waters (D-CA-35) Diane Watson (D-CA-33) Anthony Weiner (D-NY-9) Peter Welch (D-VT-1) Robert Wexler (D-FL-19) Lynn Woolsey (D-CA-6) David Wu (D-OR-1) Albert Wynn (D-MD-4) John Yarmuth (D-KY-3)